My Down Fall = Pleasing People

Several weeks ago when I had a shopping deal day at Mardel’s I picked up the book Emotionally Healthy Spirituality.  As I began reading I realized that I might just learn and grow more than I anticipated from this book. Tonight while turning the pedals on an exercise bike I read the chapter titled “Knowing Yourself That You May Know God: Becoming Your Authentic Self.” Reading the words and looking inside of myself I began thinking about one of the things I struggle with the most: desiring to please people. Since I was a little girl I loved doing things for others and receiving praise from them. Without thinking about it I began to do what others wanted me to simply to receive a nice comment from them. I had my limits and there were things I wasn’t going to do… but a little preference and I was all about doing what they wanted so that they would like me more. As I’ve grown into a woman, this hasn’t changed much. The bad side of this is when I can’t figure out how to please someone and make them happy… I become frustrated with myself and my self-confidence sinks a little. Sometimes there is nothing I can humanly do to make someone happy and I don’t like that.

I realized this fact about myself several years ago animages-8d have learned many lessons in regards to it with the help of Jesus and the people he has placed in my life to walk me through this journey. However, tonight, I began pondering some more… I read these words…

“True freedom come when we no longer need to be somebody special in other people’s eyes because we know we are lovable and good enough.”

“We remain trapped in living a pretend life out of an unhealthy concern of what other people think.”

“We want to be the men and women God has called us to be – our true selves in Christ. Yet, enormous distractions keep us from listening to our feelings, our desires, our dreams, our likes and dislikes. Many people around us would like to fix, save, and set us straight into becoming the people they would like us to be.”

God didn’t create me to fit into someone else’s mold for me. He gave me unique gifts, talents, dreams, and personality. He doesn’t want me to live in fear of what someone might say if we adopt kids from foster homes, train our kids in ways that seem weird or unbeneficial to them, drink Almond Milk, not work on Sundays, etc.  God wants me to be the person He created me to be – not the person my peers, family, or friends might want me to be. It is tough sometimes. I have to remember that it doesn’t matter how other people view me. The only person’s approval I need is the one who sits on the throne and made me for a specific purpose. He’s the one I want to make happy and please.

God, empower me to live into the fullness of who You created me to be. Don’t let me get caught up and distract by what other people want me to do or be. Do not let me be afraid of letting others down. Enable me to live out the life You desire for me. In Mighty Name – AMEN!

One response to “My Down Fall = Pleasing People

Leave a Reply

