A Happy Heart

Several weeks ago a friend of mine sent me a kindle version of the book “Love Your Husband, Love Yourself” by Jennifer Flanders. Since that time I’ve been reading the book on my phone whenever I have a couple moments to spare. I do believe that my husband and I will both greatly benefit from what Jesus has been showing me through this book. Since I’ve been reading the book on my phone, I decided I would go ahead and write a blog post about what I’m learning from my phone as well. šŸ™‚ phones can be handy things!

It is my desire to continually have a happy heart and shower blessings upon my husband and each person I come in contact with. Martha Washington once said “The greatest part of our happiness or misery depends upon our dispositions, and not upon our circumstances.” Woah. Mrs Flanders follows this quote by discussing the importance of remaining open to God by choosing to be joyful rather than reacting negativity to trials and harboring resentment and bitterness. Choosing Joy is not easy, it doesn’t come naturally for me. Yet, it is a choice I want to make. “Happiness isn’t having what I want, it’s wanting what I have.” How do I cultivate a heart that is full of joy? How do I have a happy heart when my husband walks in from work and I just want to be asleep? How do I bring joy to my husbands heart? One lady puts it this way:

Joy begins with thankfulness. Quite often our attitudes hang in the balance; by making a conscious choice, we can tip our souls into dark moods of complaining, or into thankfulness and praise. It is amazing how much your mouth controls your soul….. Thankfulness is how your think. Joy is the abundance it produces.

I want thankfulness and gratitude to flow out of my heart. Whatever is in my heart is what will flow out. I don’t want to tip my soul into sad moods and negative thoughts. I don’t want my husband to be wondering if ill be annoying or happy when he sees me. I want him to know that I will be joyful and harboring positive thoughts throughout the day and when i see him. How do I do this? Well… Good question. I must take ownership of my feelings, emotions, and state of my soul. No matter what others might say to me or do or not do – there is no passing the blame off of why I’m not filled with joy. Jesus will help me! I believe that the best thing to do is think positively and not dwell on the negative. When I think upon negative things I become sad and annoyed. This isn’t what God desires for me. He created me and intends for me to live in His full joy…. I think l’ll start singing more praise songs to Jesus throughout the day too.

From the book of Proverbs chapter 15

13 A joyful heart makes a cheerful face,
but with a heartache comes depression.
14 The mind of a person who has understanding searches for knowledge,
but the mouths of fools feed on stupidity.
15 Every day is a terrible day for a miserable
but a cheerful heart has a continual feast.
16 Better to have a little with the fear of the Lord
than great treasure and turmoil.
17 Better to have a dish of vegetables where there is love
than juicy steaks where there is hate.

Leave a Reply

