Why are you afraid? Do you still have no faith?

20130719-223421.jpg

This evening Jesus met me in a special way as I sat in the main tabernacle at Indian Springs Camp Meeting. As the evangelist began reading Mark 4:33 and following, Jesus pointed out a phrase to me that is found in verse 40: “Why are you afraid? Do you still have no faith?” The disciples were in a boat with Jesus and a humongous storm came up. They awoke Jesus in a panic. “Peace – Be Still” were the words from our Master’s mouth.

So many times I become overwhelmed, scared, afraid, and of little faith. Usually, it is about the same thing – over and over and over again. Yet, tonight Jesus tugged at my heart and asked me to give it all to him. He wants to walk through my storms with me. When I became His child He did not guarantee that my life would be a peaceful, calm experience but He guaranteed that He would be with me constantly. He will never put me in a situation that He isn’t willing to be in. All I have to do is invite Him in and give Him 100% control.

When the disciples woke Jesus in the boat, He had an undisturbed nature. He was not worried or concerned.. I’m asking our Great God to give me that same undisturbed nature.

Jesus is the power that sustains and carries me.

What a friend we have in Jesus,
All our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry
Everything to God in prayer!
Oh, what peace we often forfeit,
Oh, what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry
Everything to God in prayer!

Are we weak and heavy-laden,
Cumbered with a load of care?
Precious Savior, still our refuge—
Take it to the Lord in prayer.
Do thy friends despise, forsake thee?
Take it to the Lord in prayer!
In His arms He’ll take and shield thee,
Thou wilt find a solace there.

Leave a Reply

