New best friend

Settling into a hotel is something we’ve gotten pretty good at over the past year while traveling for Stephen’s job. And, here we are again settling into a hotel. This time I have a new best friend. While packing up our stuff I happened upon a wedding gift that I thought just might be handy – a rice cooker. After two nights of cooking in it, it has won the most handy award of appliances to carry with you into a hotel when needing to cook for two people. Thanks bet friend! However, it may come to surprise you that I have not yet cooked rice. Call me ignorant if you must, but I had no clue you could steam vegetable and cook pasta in a rice cooker. Maybe I should have given it a little more thought. πŸ™‚

So far I’ve cooked pasta with a tomato base and potato soup. And, they’ve both been delicious. After we eat the soup for a few days, maybe I will actually cook some rice! πŸ™‚

On a side note, I went grocery shopping today. While there I was reminded of how expensive organic food can be. I believe it is worth the investment to eat organic foods, I just wish they had a Natural Grocers here. That place rocks organic prices compared to other natural grocery stores I’ve run into. Now my task is to figure out what things this Walmart carries that are organic and to find other grocery stores that carry a small selection of organic items and compare prices. Sounds like a fun party to me! (Carrots and Almond Milk are already taken care of). Anyone have any clues to help me out?

Leave a Reply

