Baby

Over the last few months we’ve been praying, thinking, and looking forward to a little one entering our life. February 18th just can’t get here fast enough! Towards the end of next month we will have our 20 week ultrasound at the birthing center and find out if our little blessing will be a boy or girl. So fun, right?

As any expecting mom, I’ve thought lots of what kind of baby gear to invest in – what’s most important and what types of things we will need. Soon after we moved here I found out about a huge consigning event that would be happening in mid August. I soon found myself on their website signing up to volunteer. You see, if you volunteer you get to shop before the public does…. And I love good deals and I had plenty of free time! So, I worked hard on 2 different days so that I could shop early. When my time to shop came, I found myself in line with 100 other people and my sweet husband. He made the list of the 3 other husbands there. Within an hour we had tons of stuff: a stroller, carseat, mobi wrap, baby carrier, a wooden changing table, hiking carrier, pack n play, nursing cover, and more. It was wonderful to get such good deals and spend less than $300 on all of these baby items. All we have left in the baby gear area is a baby crib, a glider, a wooden high chair, and cloth diapers. More deals to find! But so many good things already found.

As far as how I’ve been feeling… I like to sleep at least 10 hrs a night. ๐Ÿ™‚ The first trimester wasn’t bad either. No throwing up, just a stomach that didn’t enjoy eating a whole lot but didn’t like being empty either.

One of the coolest things we’ve been doing is writing in a Bible for our little one. We bought a special Bible soon after finding out we were expecting. During the pregnancy we read from it, take notes in it, and highlight important verses. Then we will put it away until our child’s rite of passage birthday during his middle school years and present it to him then and challenge him to read through the Bible in a year. We’re excited to see how his idea will play out in the future. Who knows! ๐Ÿ™‚

Life is fun and we can’t wait to have little baby here. Until then, more reading and praying.

Leave a Reply

