The challenge of not worrying

Often times we go through our lives and each day with a bundle of stuff that weighs us down. It is like we are walking around with a huge pack on our shoulders. It’s not so fun.

This week as I’ve been spending time with my Father and discussing His word with other believers there has been a consist theme: “Trust me – don’t worry.” As I was studying the word today 2 Corinthians 4:17-18 caught my attention. I’ve read the verse many times – but the way it is said in the New Living Translation got my attention today.

17 For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever! 18 So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever.

When I look ahead and see some mountains that I’m not so excited about climbing, this verse speaks assurance into my soul. I cannot become focused on this world and my fears or desires that aren’t becoming reality. My troubles are nothing compared to the troubles that Jesus endured on earth. And, in the big picture, my troubles are small and won’t last long. Yet, these troubles that I go through on earth will bring about great rewards in Heaven. Allowing myself to worry or become frustrated with things that are going on around me only lead to more worry and frustrations. I must fix my eyes on Jesus and allow him to help me with my burdens. His yoke is what enables me to stand. He comes along side of me and fills me with joy and gently reminds me to focus on the eternal reward rather than the fleeting frustrations in life. He is a kind Father who longs for me to give everything I am to Him so that He can mold and shape me more and more into His likeness. And he is consistently whispering in my ear “trust me – don’t worry.”

28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”

One response to “The challenge of not worrying

Leave a Reply

